Every Time a Bell Rings by Carmel Harrington  @HappyMrsH @HarperFiction @fictionpubteam #bookreview #bookblogger #booktwitter 

Every Time A Bell Rings by Carmel Harrington

Review by Kelly Lacey 

I have had the book on my shelves for a very long time. I remember reading Joanne at Portobello book blog review ages ago and ordering a copy. As I started the book I had extreme déjà vu, I knew I had visited with the characters already. Then I realised I had previously had the book and got to a point where I couldn’t read on. Sometimes you are not quite ready for a book or it touches on too fragile a topic for you. This time however I read on and I am glad I did.

Belle is a wonderful character and like many of us at times is overwhelmed with life and feels the weight of the world on her shoulders. She has little to no idea of the impact she has on so many lives. 

The book is not all light and fluffy. It tackles painful issues such as child loss. This really resonated with me and I was in tears reading the book, many times. Wondering if I should stop again. But I stayed with it and I am happy I did. This was a book I needed a long time ago really. It is too late now but it did give me much-needed comfort. 

It is one of those books you can’t say much as I don’t want to spoil anything for the next reader. But it will leave you a better person than you were before you opened its pages. It will make you reflect on your own life and the people in it that matter and make it special.

An Irish modern spin on A Wonderful Life that will stay with you long after you close the book.

Blurb

An angel gets its wings…

Belle has taken all the Christmas decorations down. This year they won’t be celebrating.

As foster parents, Belle and Jim have given many children the chance of a happier start in life. They’ve loved them as if they were their own. They shouldn’t have favourites but little Lauren has touched their hearts. And now her mother is well enough to take her back and Belle can’t bear the loss.

Hence, Christmas is cancelled.

So when Jim crashes his car one icy December night, after an argument about Lauren, Belle can only blame herself. Everything she loves is lost. And Belle finds herself standing on The Ha’Penny Bridge wishing she had never been born.

But what happens to a Christmas wish when an angel is listening…

Will Belle realise, before it’s too late, that her life is the most wonderful life of all?

Inspired by the timeless tale of beloved Christmas movie, It’s a Wonderful Life, Carmel Harrington’s next book tells the story of Belle, a young woman and foster carer from Dublin who faces the hardest decision of her life this Christmas on The Ha’Penny Bridge.

Full of Irish charm, magic, and the warmth of the festive season this is an emotional, heartwarming story that will stay with you long after you’ve reached ‘The End’. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern & Jojo Moyes.

Carmel is the bestselling author of The Life You Left & Beyond Grace’s Rainbow, voted Romantic eBook of the Year 2013.

Buy Link

In the name of full transparency, please be aware that this blog
contains affiliate links and any purchases made through such links will result in a small commission for us (at no extra cost for you).

One thought on “Every Time a Bell Rings by Carmel Harrington  @HappyMrsH @HarperFiction @fictionpubteam #bookreview #bookblogger #booktwitter 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.